"Great Khan" map guide

Users who are viewing this thread

Hulagu Khan

Sergeant at Arms
[in progress]

This is a guide for those who want to learn how to map (my way of doing it).

I am not a pro, but i do know how to map. This is to get your feet kicking, i do not texturize nor do i perfect a map to its fullest extent, i just do what i feel is necessary and try not to over-do too much.

First, start off by drawing your map. I personally do a lot better with Earth maps, so lets get started on our future project Great Khan. First im going to open up an extremely large world topographic map. Topography helps distinguish hills, oceans, rivers and with a little editing, mountains. It doesnt do everything for you, but it will give you a basic layout of where hills, rivers and mountains should be. Wiki has the exact topo map i use. Google "topographic world" click on images. One with rivers, one without. I'd use the one without rivers to avoid issues, and use your best-estimate to place rivers manually.

There are 2 imports you need, one elevation map, and one land map. the elevation map distinguishes ... elevation. the land map distinguishes rivers/oceans from land.

phaze1.jpg

Now im going to select the area of which i plan to work on.

phaze2.jpg

Now, im going to make sure the sides of my new image has no transparent parts (or this will mess up when i import it to map editor later)

phaze4.jpg

As you can see nothing is transparent.

Make a backup of what you've selected (or just save it), then paste a new verson of your selection (just paste the image again so you have 2). [is not required but sometimes you may mess up and want to start over]

Now we want to turn all oceans into one solid color, and not multi-colors. To do this get the "dropper" from the sidebar (this selects a color you are currently hovering over) now hover over to the light-blue areas of the ocean

phaze3.jpg