An Open Letter

Users who are viewing this thread

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sanctus57

Recruit
Good morning (Or whatever pleasantry is appropriate for whatever the time is where you are),

I've been reading about Phantasy Calradia 2018 like I'm cramming for an exam for the last couple of days and thought I would share my impression. As a developer myself, I want to express how impressive it is to look at the changelog for this mod and realize the amount of work that is being put into it. This is clearly a labor of love and one that is being graciously provided through blood, sweat, and tears. I want to say thank you both as a fantasy gaming enthusiast and as someone who recognizes the deep, difficult work that it takes to make a project like this successful.

I want to share a quick story about an old mod for the original mount & blade called the Hordelands. Some may remember it, it was an excellent fantasy mod that was spearheaded by an equally dedicated developer. It had orcs, elves, undead, necromancy... sound familiar? It went through rapid development cycles, buoyed by the developers imagination and the passion of the playerbase. For many months, it was in a nearly perfect state, 100% playable with many new and exciting features never implemented in the base game. But then two things happened: 1. The developer began to burn out and started reaching for new and exciting features to hold his interest in the project, causing him to increase the scope of the project far beyond his willingness to troubleshoot and address the bugs that inevitably crop up from large changes and 2. The community became more and more vocal and demanding, less complimentary, further sapping the devs enthusiasm.