New Damage System (w/ Demo)

Users who are viewing this thread

SAAj

Recruit
Hello, all. I recently bought Mount & Blade: Complete and absolutely love it. The only issue I have with it is that armor acts as simple damage reduction. I have an alternate damage system that I feel adds some realism to the use of armor, as well as the tactical use of certain weaponry against certain armor types. This system is at the heart of a small group of mods that alter controls and movement to more realistically represent the way characters would move and behave in different types of armor.

I am fairly new to programming; I have been learning on my own using online tutorials and an excellent program (Scirra Construct) written in Python. I originally posted this over at MBX, but a lot of the boards seem to be fairly inactive. I thought I might get better results here. While you're more than welcome to critique the system itself, I'd also like to know from veteran M&B modders what kind of technical expertise I would need in order to implement this. I know for a fact that I couldn't do it using the in-game editor, and since I'm still very new to coding, I'm not sure to what extent I would have to alter the game in order to achieve this, or even how receptive the engine would be to such a modification.

Is it feasible? Is it possible? What, specifically, should I learn in order to do this?

Mechanics

The HP bar is replaced by a 'Wounds' bar, which acts as a percentage (0-100%) rather than as points. Every time you take damage, it is added to your wounds, which then act as a percent chance to kill you.

Example: if you have 0 wounds and take 20 damage from a dagger, you have a 20% chance to die from that attack. If you survive and take another 20 damage, your total wounds are now 40, meaning you have a 40% chance to die from this second attack, and so on.