Diamonds.

Users who are viewing this thread

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mitchmon

Sergeant
Please make Diamonds a little less rare, cuse I have been Graverobbing for about 2 months everywhere and no Diamond and have check Merchants, I can't make that Bust or Phillhopsers stone.

I guess you was just a little unlucky.
I ve played 4 games alltogether 30 hours since the release (yes i got too much time, no rest for the wicked),
and i got the first diamond after 2 to 3 weeks (from graverobbing).
The diggin is, like it should be imo, very random.
Usually i get spammed with silver, yesterday i was searching for silver for 5 ingame weeks and crossed the
map from Sargoth to Veluca where i finally found a merchant who sells one.

Mitchmon said:
Please make Diamonds a little less rare, cuse I have been Graverobbing for about 2 months everywhere and no Diamond and have check Merchants, I can't make that Bust or Phillhopsers stone.

There is a 1 in 256 chance of finding diamonds while digging, and a little bit better than that to find them in a shop. Since shop inventories refresh more-or-less randomly, this somewhat evens up the chances, and keeps them rare. Which is necessary.

Think about it realistically though: you are standing in a graveyard with a shovel, and there are MANY graves - what are the chances that digging one up randomly will produce a diamond ring at all, for instance? And then what are the chances the hapless former owner didn't know it was really a zirconia (read: crystal, in Solid and Shade) or that an unscrupulous mortician had not swapped the real one for a bit of pretty glass? The latter actually happens in real life more than you want to know...