Martial Arts Disscussion

Users who are viewing this thread

Æsir

Knight
Ok, I did a search for martial arts, got poll from about 9 months ago and decided to start a new thread.

This is for anyone that practices, practiced, or is interested in Martial Arts. I have always liked martial arts and practice them often. I train mostly in Malay martial arts. That would be: Kali, Silat, and Muay Thai. However I also have had background in Krav Maga, Kempo, Western Boxing, a little French Savate, American Kickboxing, Jeet Kune Do, a small amount of MMA, and a little bit of TKD. This is NOT self taught. I am trained by one of the best instructors in the tri-state and have trained at a Guru Dan Inosanto seminar.

So I thought it would be interesting and enlightening to share with one another techniques, dispell misconceptions, as well has help guide anyone that is looking to get into martial arts. So any of you that train in MA please step forward, say what you train in, and I hope for constructive conversation.

I used to do some Judo when I was a little kid and I don't remember much of it, except that it hurt, but am still interested. :smile:

Shotokan Karate; was European champion and ranked ~16th of the world a long time ago.

Drunken boxing, all you need is a ****load of booze and an attitude.

Xingyi Liuhe Quan is the works for me!

Although I'm advanced in kenjutsu as well, Tenshin shoden katori shinto ryu being mah school.

... yay!

FrisianDude said:
I used to do some Judo when I was a little kid and I don't remember much of it, except that it hurt, but am still interested. :smile:

I start practicing Judo at the start of next year.

@Seff: Krav is really good to learn for military because you can learn applicable stuff quickly. Kali is a better system but takes WAY longer to get good at.

I found this video to be particularly spectacular:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wMJ_b9uV1Lo