The battle for Calradia. Check forums.

Users who are viewing this thread

Its looking good :wink:

Arch3rs end was stuck till the module release though is now moving.

My end is moving slowly as time is limited till Im back to a normal week which should be next week.
Though I have been writing and gathering information and will be hopefully putting the database together very soon.

First of all. I think this is a great idea! Looking forward to making it happen.

BUT

as a coder I know something about ambitious projects - they almost never work as planned. The key thing imho is to make really basic short pre-pre-alpha but playable version of it preferably now. It's really important. I tell you - while playing tons of unexpected problems will appear and it would be sad if some awesome work would be made in vain.

Some problems cannot be predicted before game itself.

First thing to do is to choose essential parts of game. I would get rid of some things (only for start):
- dividing factions into normal/bandit/mercenary factions - make it simple, clan = faction, faction can fight/loot/hire or be hired
- modding - just make clans to choose one of m&b factions as modding system just came out and there are almost no clan mods
- individual mercenaries - just join a clan for formality

you clever people can surely think of some things to get rid of for now to make it simple. Maybe make economy even simpler. I know it would also make it less enjoyable but it will be perfect for testing game mechanics.

Essential parts imho are:
- moving armies on map
- scheduling battles, sieges...
- basic economy

When short version works then we can revise and add new features.

I really think this is important. Please consider this. But of course you may disagree.

Hear, hear! I agree with Diavel!
But @ Diavel: Arch3r's Invasion mod is one of the ways we are testing the factions, but unfortunately, we only pit players against bots on there.

diavel said: