historical martial arts official topic

Users who are viewing this thread

azzarol

Sergeant
hi all i'm new in the forum thought i have been playing M&B for 2 years, well here i've seen a lot of topics regarding european
martial arts as well, so I thought about doing a unique thread about it.
For the noobs that thinks that katana is the ultimate weapon and other poor ignorant people:
try first here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Historical_fencing
then to know how could viking do the same pattern wielding of japanese swords go there: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Viking_sword

let's talk about the weapons found in the historical manuals:
-the longsword (yes it has been lasted something like 600/700 years)
-the messer
-the dagger
-the single sword
-the azza or pollaxe
-the spear
-the sword and buckler
-the cut&thrust sidesword (with a semispherical shield called rotella or cloack or alone)
-the rapier (mostly in combination with dagger or cloack)

in my zone there is no wma school apart the rievocations associations, but they do a kind of coreographic play, so i joined the ARMA's forum thing that I suggest to anyone interested in this argument thearma.com

hope i made a good introduction.....  :roll:

Hello and welcome aboard.

I am not sure what you have in mind for this thread exactly. We don't tend to have a lot of katana plonkers here. Even the people on the samurai side in the viking vs samurai thread tend to have better reasons for their opinion in the debate. We actually tended to have more viking fans there.

What I can tell you is we have more than a few members with good experience of Western Martial Arts, I have learned a few things here. :smile:

Do you have a favourite weapon on that list? I am a big fan of halberds (or pollaxes), because I think they work for both the dismounted knight and the common foot soldier to great effect and are really versitile and powerful weapons.