What to do?

Users who are viewing this thread

asukhama

Recruit
So, what am I supposed to do in the beginning?
I've played a plethora of M&B Warband mods (ofc including PoP), so i have had some experience with rough starts. But i feel that brytenwalda perhaps overdid a bit too much?
Anyway, since i started i recruited a bunch of basic recruits from villagers. They packed a good punch against regular bandits, but get slaugthered by dena and franks. I was expecting them to ugprade soon, until i realized that this mod makes basic units lv 15, taking them forever to upgrade in tiers. This immediately makes basic recruits useless untill late game. Cause even a band of 10 Dena's can wreck 35 basic recruits, and since they won't level up anytime soon ...
In response, i gathered a bunch of money (12 000) and started hiring some medium & heavy infantry. Bandits fall like flies, but dena's & franks still managed to decimate at least 20 to 30% of my (relatively expensive) army.
So now i'm kind of aimlessly wondering the world not really knowing what to do now.
I can fight bandits for no purpose (and i've barely come across any). I can't fight dena or franks consistently and level up my army properly. Although i'm a mercenary in one of the earls armies, i can't fight other lords cause they absolutely destroy me.

I get the impression that the mod purposely limits the player a lot in order to simulate realism (especially features like the falling when walking backwards). But unless that is applied to the AI as well (as they often just outrun my chasing army backwards!), it just feels like an attempt to artifically rack up difficulty by handicapping players and leaving the AI alone.
The mod itself it probably great. From the handcrafted towns, the tons of features that mods like PoP don't have. But i'm just having such a hard time liking it because it's running into brick wall after brick wall.

Any suggestions?