New History-Based Anno 1257 Youtube Let's Play as Nicaea

Users who are viewing this thread

Hello everyone,

I recently started a Youtube video Let's Play of this fine mod. It's been interesting, as while I am a pretty well-read amateur ... I don't know, "scholar" sounds a bit pretentious for what I actually am, maybe just "interested person" ... of the Byzantine Empire, I don't have much Warband experience, and even less with this particular mod.

The LP is focused on role-playing a Nicaean commander. I determine in episode 5 (uploading today) that I play a "dynatoi", a wealthy pronoiarios (landed full-time Byzantine soldier) who can afford to keep companions ("oikeioi") and a retinue ("oiketai") to aid him in battle, which is my "warband". That's how I fit into the world created by the game's engine. While I exercise more autonomy than a historical pronoiarios, who would be following along with the main army, I work for the glory and restoration of the Empire and eventually, hopefully, the recapture of the Queen of Cities herself, Constantinople, which did happen historically in 1261.

So I would like to invite you, the fans of this mod, to join me on my adventure. Primarily, I need assistance (though my regular viewers have been great with this so far) on making the most of this mod and maximizing my skill at playing it - initially in making money, as the armor and weapons and unduly expensive - though I always welcome in addition any comments/opinions/corrections on the history that I present.

Not all episodes contain historical discussion, but so far episodes 1, 4, and upcoming 5 and 6 do.

Edit 7-16-14: I can link now, huzzah!

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLM7yEwbhGUoozkBCrw0ztCJQy8QkCo_2U

Thank you!

-Marcus

Sounds interesting. I might give it a watch.