Maximum Difficulty and most optimal build.

Users who are viewing this thread

sumusiko

Veteran
Well guys, I'm no newbie around PoP and have had my fair share of vaseline stories , but now I decided to step it up and go ham. Gonna start a new game on maximum difficulty , for you more experienced guys , what seemed to be the most effective build on maximum difficulty?

Tips would be nice too since changing difficulty actually changes A LOT of the game because you must approach it in different ways that you couldn't before.

What were your difficulty settings before...?
I balance out Str + Agi in the beginning, then invest all in Int. It'll be a little hard to get the 1st qualis gems, until then I use a courser, spear then light lance and crossbow, later composite bow.

Of course, invest at least 2 in riding, then Power Strike and Power Draw.
Then max out pathfinding + training (to max 5), wnd treatment + first aid (to 5, 8, later 10)

Solo out a bit in the beginning, looking for Ansen + Leslie, and collecting as much money as possible with trade and easy bandits.

For Red Brotherhood or Outlaw bands I employ some adventurers/rogue knights until I can hire Sir Jocelyn, Roland and Alistair (optimally Jocelyn first). I pick one party roster I like and build my companions accordingly, then I build the other companions as knights with sword, blunt + shield.
If companions leave they leave, I re-hire them when I run into them.

1st priority is getting the first qualis gem in Rane....the 2nd gem in brotherhood hideout is delayed for much later. I prefer building my companion roster with infantry archer build, so until they are effective for bandit hideouts it takes some time.

With enough renown, I get merc contract for faction, earning big money from lord ransoms, else focusing on village + town quests. I use any denars I have on recruiting all companions, then buy fief enterprises.