New PC Help

Users who are viewing this thread

-Peter-

Master Knight
Wanting a new PC that will be good enough to run Warband and ideally Bannerlord. I don't really play other games, other than older Total Wars.

However, I don't really know what to look for in terms of specs.

Came across this;

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/DELL-6-8Ghz-DUAL-CORE-WINDOWS-7-DESKTOP-GAMING-PC-TOWER-COMPUTER-SFF-NEW-HDMI-/141065265646?pt=UK_Computing_DesktopPCs&hash=item20d82521ee

Would this be value for money? Should I be looking at something better?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

I wouldn't buy it. I've had a similar system (Pentium D - 3.4GHz, HD5450. It ran Warband on Medium-Low.. about 20-24 fps)

I'm guessing you have a tight budget?

Also, if you're looking to build a new system that is a bit cheaper, I would recommend going with a AMD APU based system. They're cheap and will save you from buying a graphics card.

I'm not very good at this stuff so my knowledge is very limited. Hope I helped.

Thanks for the reply, any insight is helpful as I have no clue when it comes to specs!

So would I be better off spending a little more for a PC with these specs? ;

Case:      Artix Midi Tower Gaming Case
Motherboard:    GIGABYTE GA-970A-DS3
Processor:    AMD FX 4-Core Black Edition FX-4130
Operating System:  Windows 7 Ultimate
Memory:      8GB 2 X 4GB
Hard Drive:    1000GB (1TB) Harddrive
Power Supply:    Atx Power Supplys
Graphics:    EVGA GeForce GTX 650 Ti

Ended up buying this;

Quad core Q6600 CPU with Arctic cooler
Radeon HD5750 Graphics card
4GB DDR2 RAM
2 x Hard Drives: 500GB Primary HDD/ 40GB Secondary HDD

For £225, good deal or no good deal?

I don't think that is worth it really. That computer is basically 5 +  years old. The video card is a mid tier card and 3 generations old. At best you would be running most modern games at low-mid settings at sub 1080p (I assume you don't have a monitor that is a higher res.