Need Java Help

Users who are viewing this thread

chargerz43

Knight
So I'm not good with loops in Java. This loop keeps repeating itself into an infinite loop. Any tips on how to fix it?
Once again I'm not good with Java so don't judge  :razz:

Code:
import java.util.Scanner;
public class NumberGuess
{
	public static void main(String[] args)
	{

System.out.println("Think of a whole number(1-100)");
		int range = 100;
		int min = 0;
		int max = 100;
		int average;
		int number;
		int x = 0;
		int guess;

while (x  0);
		{
			max = guess;
			guess = (min + max) / 2
			System.out.print("Is your number... " + guess );
			System.out.print("?");
			System.out.println("1) Yes");
			System.out.println("2) No");

int choice = reader.nextInt();
			switch(choice)
			{
     			case 1: x = 1;
					break;
				case 2: x = 0;
					break;
				default:
					System.out.println("Wat?");
					break;
			}
		}

System.out.print("I win! Your number is ");
		System.out.print(guess);
		System.out.println("!");

}

}
}

I'd like to say, your case/break system for escaping the loop is awful. Break should be used only when absolutely necessary.

Lerber said:
I'd like to say, your case/break system for escaping the loop is awful. Break should be used only when absolutely necessary.

The break is for escaping the case/switch not the loop. If you don't have the break you will execute all the code for the cases below, even if your choice doesn't match the case. All the case really does is tell the program where to start reading code from, it doesn't say anything about stopping when it gets to end of one case or the start of the next.  :roll:

I'm well aware. Considering you have essentially two (three) possibilities, the case/switch is fairly superfluous anyway, when an if-then-else structure would suffice.