Teaching Programming (Spamvertisement!)

Users who are viewing this thread

Lerber

So, I've been programming for a few years and my eventual goal is to earn a Ph.D and become a professor. One of the reasons, is because I enjoy teaching stuff. I find it really fun. To that end, I've started a youtube channel that's going to attempt to teach the equivalent of an intro course in Object Oriented programming.

I just published the first video, which is simple and kind of boring, but helps get people set up with what they'll need. (I know many people have difficulties getting Python set up on Windows.)

http://youtu.be/oW2cZ4agm2I

Any opinions would be appreciated.

Lerber said:
(I know many people have difficulties getting Python set up on Windows.)

If they can't figure it out, they probably don't have what it takes to understand even the most basic concepts of programming.

That's really not true. They're entirely different ideas and frames of mind. The video is meant for the absolute novice. Aka why it's a "101" course.

I think Python3.3 will be better than 2.7 since 3.3 can also interpret both 2.x and 3.x syntax (they added an executable(or a script, i am not sure about it) which checks shebang line of code then determines which version of syntax is used. a slide about it: http://wolfprojects.altervista.org/talks/what-s-new-in-python-3.3/ page 10)

And talking a little about structured programming on python can help to understand basics of functions, loops, if-else statements etc... (i think 1 video is enough for all of that because one or two simple example of each statement is enough :smile:

and sorry about bad English, since i haven't got enough chance to practice it around here it stays at beginner level :sad:

I think your english sounds fine.