im new to vikingr

Users who are viewing this thread

Status
Not open for further replies.

TeMPaHGamin

Recruit
Hi
i recently downloaded vikingr after taking a break from warband for a few months.
now i want to start playing vikingr alot more and try to join a clan
what should i do to get me started ? people have suggested getting an authentic name ?
thanks

Yes, first step should be to get an authentic/historical name; this thread will help.

Second step is to play the mod and to get yourself known. Learn the game, learn it's mechanics and the community rules and unwritten laws. Víkingr may appear cliquey at first, but that is only becouse we're very protective of our beloved mod, but keep playing and enjoy the mod! :smile:

thanks for your help,
after reading those threads and trying to undertstand the way names are built would this name be ok
Hávarðsdóttir

Hi and welcome to Víkingr, TeMPaHGamin!

To answer your question: no, that wouldn't work as a name. It's a patronymic (very, very roughly equivalent to a surname, except that it wasn't inherited; it's the system still in use in Iceland) which means "daughter of Hávarðr" and which wouldn't be used on its own. If your character is female, "[Female Name] Hávarðsdóttir" would work. If your character is male, the patronymic would be "Hávarðsson", or you could make "Hávarðr" his first name (but in that case, coming up with a different patronymic to stick after it would probably be a good idea).

You however dont have to take the name choosing too serious. The most important this is still that you can identify with the name and that you like it. As long as it is not lighsaberwarrior1337 you should be fine.

For getting into a clan playing on the server is the most important thing to do! Be kind and prove that you are interested in teamplay then you should be able to find a clan that suits you.

its very complicated to figure out a full name could you chose me a normal name for a viking in that time period.