NAFNGIFT – get a period name

Users who are viewing this thread

One is "aon" and eye is "súil" in modern Irish, I think. But, I am not sure. Either way, modern Irish is of no use here.

From the electronic Dictionary of the Irish Language (eDIL):

danar ‘stranger, foreigner; in depreciatory sense a cruel and ferocious foreigner or barbarian, a robber, pirate, bandit’ – actually the same word as Danar ‘Dane; Viking’

cáech ‘blind in one eye’ – also used substantively: ‘person blind in one eye’

And thus for you: Danar Cáech or just Cáech.

I'd suggest Cáech na Baile, "One-Eye of the Frenzy", but bear in mind that baile/buile meant a kind of rage and wilderness that was very similar to the Germanic concept of wod: mystical inspiration, visions and the like.

Hey, I would like to have a continental version of my name as I like it but I named the character such only because of an event. Any ideas ?

Oh, you're Léofgar? I'm no expert at all, but sounds to me as if 'Liudger' (Like I was Liud-ulf) could be a continental equivalent to Léofgar, and it's attested, but I'm not sure if it's attested to the right period. :smile:

Sounds about right. Maybe Hrotha has something to say on this. I am no expert on linguistics at all, but something like Leofgar with a Liud/Liut was my first guess aswell.

Where exactly in the continent? The Old Saxon version for example should be Liofgêr. The Old Frisian form should be Liāfgēr. In the Old High German dialects most likely to feature in Víkingr, it should be Liobgēr or Liebgēr, but in Upper German dialects it should be Liupkēr. I'm not entirely sure about any of these forms, though, so I'd wait to see if anyone else (*cough* Eadric *cough*) can confirm them.

I'm not sure the Frisian form is attested, either. The others at least should be fine.