"CHEAT! Show reports" suddenly appeared!

Users who are viewing this thread

So after some time I started playing Warband again. It's been a few months. I played most of this week, doing well. Last night, I saved after doing a run all over the map buying up items here and there during a short period of peace. Those damned Nords declare war every chance they get!

Anyway, this afternoon I load up my last save and in town I have an option for "CHEAT! Show reports" listed below the "Leave..." option.

This was never there before, and I don't have the cheats enabled option checked in the config. I think I did accidentally check it and then uncheck it while I was monkeying with the settings yesterday. I was having some problems with it hanging pretty hard in large battles. Switching to directX 7 seems to have fixed that. But if I'm correct, if I check that box, don't I have to also pick some sort of cheat option during character creation? It wasn't there all day yesterday, and I tend to do a lot of saving and reloading...like any time a stupid bandit army attacks me while I'm fast traveling. It can be rather annoying to constantly fight them, but its here today.

Any help would be appreciated!

Lord Brutus said:
Do you use Steam?  If so, Steam updated an incorrect patch today that may be your problem.
What do you mean incorrect?  Any more insights?

I was playing just now and my game crashed, then it shows I got upped to 1.142.
It would be a shame if they screwed something up.

I just started playing Warband single player again, and aimed to get a load of the single player steam achievements this round. I really hope that this sudden "cheats!" thing messes with the integrity of my save-game file. I think I may have saved after it happened...

Caba`drin said:
Insights? No, not yet, only this mess of a thread: new steam patch?.