Author Topic: FAQ and Troubleshooting  (Read 17326 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

mtarini

  • Resource Wrangler
  • Moderator
  • *
  • [TLD] and [OpenBRF]
    • View Profile
    • [home]
  • Faction: Neutral
FAQ and Troubleshooting
« on: May 25, 2011, 01:11:05 PM »
FAQ & troubleshooting:
Your question is not answered here? Post it!


BASIC USAGE:
to access most functions you must select the object you want to act on (e.g. a mesh), clicking it on the list at the left, and then: either right click on it; or, use the "selected" menu option. Then select the command from the menu.

You can also multiple select objects, by Shift- / Ctrl-clicking on them.
That way you can perform an action on all of them at once (via the context menu, as normal).



BASICS:

What is OpenBRF and what are BRF files?
(click to show/hide)

What is the OpenBRF icon supposed to represent?
(click to show/hide)


DOING STUFF:

How do I do stuff?
(click to show/hide)

How do I export a mesh/an animation/a skeleton/etc?
(click to show/hide)

How to paint vertex-colors on the mesh?
(click to show/hide)

Can I add new animations and skeletons in my mod?
(click to show/hide)

How do I move meshes/materials/etc into one BRF file from another BRF file?
(click to show/hide)

I see a tool to "recompute tangent directions". What are they used for?
(click to show/hide)


TROUBLESHOOTING:

My bumpmapped objects are shown black (if I activate bumbmapping)
(click to show/hide)

Why does it show a white-blue checkerboard instead of my texture?
(click to show/hide)

My OBJ files appear flipped when I import them!
(click to show/hide)


VIEWING STUFF:

How can I see several meshes combined, like all the parts of a castle together?
(click to show/hide)

What do all those flags and numbers in Material, Shader and Texture tab mean, exactly?
(click to show/hide)

What do the bold/colors mean, in the left-most list of names?
(click to show/hide)

Colors? What colors?
(click to show/hide)


SYSTEM RELATED:

How to install?
(click to show/hide)

How can I make OpenBRF the predefined application for my BRF files?
(click to show/hide)
« Last Edit: June 06, 2016, 05:28:11 PM by mtarini »

DestroyerOfSense

  • Recruit
  • *
    • View Profile
  • Faction: Neutral
  • MP nick: SperiwulfazTheudoskeldus
Re: FAQ and Troubleshooting
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2013, 03:00:27 AM »
A very strange thing happened with this tool. The first time I used it, it worked just fine, but every subsequent time I tried to open it, it said it was missing the "mingwm10.dll" file, even though it's listed as one of the files in the program folder. I tried reinstalling it, and it worked fine the first time, once again, but every subsequent time it displays that same error. Any ideas why?
"Men grow tired of sleep, love, singing and dancing sooner than war." - Homer

mtarini

  • Resource Wrangler
  • Moderator
  • *
  • [TLD] and [OpenBRF]
    • View Profile
    • [home]
  • Faction: Neutral
Re: FAQ and Troubleshooting
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2013, 01:21:09 PM »
Never encountered this...
That DLL is in the zip and should sit next to OpenBrf.exe. Is that still there?

You are not executing it from the zip, are you? (You need first unzip it inside a folder of your choice, then run it from that folder.)

If the DLL actually disappeared, I'll try a wild guess:
maybe it's your Windows being hyper-protective about "his" DLLs, and auto-reverting them (meaning: deleting the ones which you copied from the zip).
That might the case, if you are picked a folder which Windows consider his own, like (maybe) sub-folders inside "Program Files".
Try using another folder (e.g. C:\openBRF, or anything). Let us know!




DestroyerOfSense

  • Recruit
  • *
    • View Profile
  • Faction: Neutral
  • MP nick: SperiwulfazTheudoskeldus
Re: FAQ and Troubleshooting
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2013, 06:26:08 PM »
No, it's still inside the folder, right above the .exe file. But thanks... I didn't think of that before. I'll try it and see how it goes!
"Men grow tired of sleep, love, singing and dancing sooner than war." - Homer

DestroyerOfSense

  • Recruit
  • *
    • View Profile
  • Faction: Neutral
  • MP nick: SperiwulfazTheudoskeldus
Re: FAQ and Troubleshooting
« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2013, 06:33:44 PM »
And it worked! Thank you very much.
"Men grow tired of sleep, love, singing and dancing sooner than war." - Homer

DarkLordling

  • Recruit
  • *
    • View Profile
  • Faction: Neutral
Re: FAQ and Troubleshooting
« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2014, 07:06:53 PM »
Hey, I'm having this sudden problem with openBrf, first two times I ran it all went well, but now it just declares;
LoadLibrary failed with error 998: Invalid access to memory location.
I have searched everywhere a solution to this and nothing has come up. It doesn't help where I unzip the folder, it just doens't cooperate anymore.
« Last Edit: May 12, 2014, 07:09:19 PM by DarkLordling »

HungKnight

  • Regular
  • *
    • View Profile
  • Faction: Neutral
Re: FAQ and Troubleshooting
« Reply #6 on: June 11, 2014, 03:21:03 AM »
( http://forums.taleworlds.com/index.php?topic=125282.0 ) I've followed the instructions, but everything is good to step III. OpenBrf : when I open openbrf  no error I dont know what  is this ? :x, help me


microsoft visual c++ runtime libary


this application has requestedthe runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.
please contact the application's support team for more information
 :?  :?

lol  :mrgreen:  :mrgreen:  sorry my english bad

Ruthven

  • Revs lil' helper
  • Baron
  • *
  • crushie crushie crushie
    • View Profile
  • Faction: Neutral
  • MP nick: irc://Ruthven
  • WBM&BVC
Re: FAQ and Troubleshooting
« Reply #7 on: March 20, 2016, 03:41:49 AM »
Is there any way to get OpenBRF to actually recognize customFeminizer.morpher files? It seems it can generate them but not read them which does defeat the purpose a bit.



EDIT: FIXED in 0.0.82 -- mtarini
« Last Edit: June 06, 2016, 05:30:42 PM by mtarini »


mtarini

  • Resource Wrangler
  • Moderator
  • *
  • [TLD] and [OpenBRF]
    • View Profile
    • [home]
  • Faction: Neutral
Re: FAQ and Troubleshooting
« Reply #8 on: March 22, 2016, 07:51:57 PM »
Is there any way to get OpenBRF to actually recognize customFeminizer.morpher files? It seems it can generate them but not read them which does defeat the purpose a bit.

Ok, my bad. My very bad.
This is something I accidentally broke in one update or another :-(

What happened:

I really made a mess this time.
Unfortunately, I lost the last sources (0.0.80) when my computer was stolen, silly me, and the latest surviving source I have (0.0.79) lacks quite a bit of work. Eventually I might go over it and replicate all the changes I made from 0.079 to 0.0.80, but some of them where quite significant and I don't particularly feel like it :(.
I'm not sure which version introduced the bug.

tl;dr: that's a bug, and it's not likely to be fixed anytime soon.

A simple work around:

One option is to do whatever you need to do with the auto-feminizer with an older version of OpenBRF, and then revert to the latest version for anything else.
You'll need to get an older version of OpenBRF.
As I said, I'm not sure which version introduced the bug, so this takes some trial and error. If you do find which is the latest working version, please report that!



A more laborious, but probably better, work around:

(1) First, make sure OpenBRF can write your custom femininizer data.
OpenBRF tries to write it in its own directory.
Therefore, if OpenBRF is inside "Program Files" or some protected folder of that sort, you'll need to right click on OpenBRF, then "run it as administrator".
If openBRF is inside a normal, custom folder, then there should be no need for this step.

(2) Create the custom femininization file, as usual, if you didn't do this before
(look under [settings]=>[On Armour auto-femininization] ).
If everything is fine, you'll find some file called
customFemininizer.morpher
in the same folder where openBrf.exe is.
But, OpenBRF will not be able to find it there.

(3) Now, for the UGLY part.
Say OpenBRF.exe is found inside folder:
C:\some_folder\openBrf
It will mistakenly look for the custom feminimization file here:
C:\some_folder\openBrfcustomFemininizer.morpher
(instead of:
C:\some_folder\openBrf\customFemininizer.morpher 
note the missing slash).
So, in this example, you'll need to manually rename the file from
customFemininizer.morpher
to
openBrfcustomFemininizer.morpher
and then move it in the parent folder, i.e.:
C:\some_folder\

(4) now you can ask openBRF again to use the custom settings:
     [Settings]=>[On Armour auto-femininization] => [Use custom settings ]
And it will find it and work (hopefully). It should work on any following run, from now on.
Unfortunately, if you create another custom setting, you'll need to redo step 3 above.

Sorry for the inconvenience, and BTW thanks for reporting the bug.

Let me know how it goes!
« Last Edit: March 22, 2016, 07:54:00 PM by mtarini »

Ruthven

  • Revs lil' helper
  • Baron
  • *
  • crushie crushie crushie
    • View Profile
  • Faction: Neutral
  • MP nick: irc://Ruthven
  • WBM&BVC
Re: FAQ and Troubleshooting
« Reply #9 on: March 23, 2016, 02:09:11 AM »
 :lol: I love stuff like this. Brilliant workaround. It does load now but the feminized frames are always bigger than the original (looks like the feminizer is working perfectly fine only in reverse.) I'll try some old versions of openBRF and see if it works.

Edit: ah, here's a quote from the bug reports thread:
OpenBRF will generate but not Load a customFemininizer.morpher. I have the latest version 0.0.80e, and I'm running windows 8.1. I compared the contents of the customFemininizer.morpher files in my openBRF directory that I successfully generate when i do [Settings] -> [On armour auto-feminization] -> [Learn custom setting from selected meshes] with the the femininizer.morpher in the source code and the format of the files is identical (with slightly different values of course). Then i tried old versions starting with 0.0.77. That one and 0.0.78 could both generate and read custom feminizer morphers, but when I actually used them, the result was screwy and always made the feminine morph larger than the masculine morph. 0.0.79 and above is when it stopped loading but continued generating

So the problem was there even in 0.0.77.
« Last Edit: March 23, 2016, 02:18:07 AM by Ruthven »


mtarini

  • Resource Wrangler
  • Moderator
  • *
  • [TLD] and [OpenBRF]
    • View Profile
    • [home]
  • Faction: Neutral
Re: FAQ and Troubleshooting
« Reply #10 on: March 23, 2016, 04:33:24 AM »
Oh my. It seems I was on a bug galore when I retouched that morpher thing.

[checks the code]

Yes, correct: I'm swapping masculine and feminine during the "learning" phase of custom feminization.

Ok, I would say /custom/ femininization is officially broken in latest versions (default one works).

BUT, there is an even funnier workaround, if you are willing to do that.

Here:

Background: unfortunately,  M&B (1.011) and WarBand don't agree on which frame is Male and Female. So openBRF has to understand which version we are using in order to decide which is which
(my guess is that I made this mess when I tried to make OpenBRF comply with WarBand and not only with old Mount&Blade -- or maybe viceversa).

This means that if you trick OpenBrf that you are using mount&blande and not Warband, then this should reverse the bug, and it should "learn" the femininzation correclly, .

So, here's how to get your custom femininzation file,
(assuming you are using warband).

(1) rename the warband executable:
      from mb_warband.exe to mount&blade.exe 
      (use exactly that name)

(2) load (or reload) your BRF file, the one with the armor.
     Make sure it is inside <warband_path>/Modules/<some_module>/Resource/<some_file>
     "commonRes" files won't work.
    Now openBRF should think to be in "mount&blade mode", not "warband mode".

(3) Check that this is actually the case, by doing this:
     select any armour with the feminized frame already, and attempt to "[add feminine frame]" to it.
     If should give you this message:
    "Warning: mesh <whatever> has already a feminine frame 0. Overwrite it?"
    (feel free to answer "No").
    If it says: frame 1 instead, it means we failed, we are still in WB mode. Oops.
    (btw that frame number is actually incorrectly reported, but it doesn't matter).

(4) Now make it learn your custom femininization from your own models, see two posts above.
      Follow all steps in that post:
      i.e.: make your custom file, rename it and move it manually.
      Maybe check the creation date of the file, to make sure that it is a new file (just in case).

(5) Now rename the executable back (reverse step 1). And, reopen any BRF file.
     Check: try step 3 again, make sure that now it reads "1" again.
     Welcome back to Warband mode.

     Note: you need to be in Warband mode, as normal, to apply the femininzation.
     Fake M&B mode is only needed to counter the bug when "learning" the custom feminizer.

(6) From now on, you should (hopefully) be able to feminize armours at will your own way.
     Maybe. Unless there is something else.
     Well, if it works, I'd say you earned that:
     it is only marginally less labor-intensive than modelling feminine armours manually :D :D


If you try this, let me know how it goes.
« Last Edit: March 23, 2016, 04:37:33 AM by mtarini »

Ruthven

  • Revs lil' helper
  • Baron
  • *
  • crushie crushie crushie
    • View Profile
  • Faction: Neutral
  • MP nick: irc://Ruthven
  • WBM&BVC
Re: FAQ and Troubleshooting
« Reply #11 on: March 23, 2016, 10:26:57 PM »
It works perfectly! Thank you mtarini!


HyperCharge

  • Modification Area Moderator
  • *
  • I am Uthred, son of Uthred
    • Twitch.tv - Hypercharge
    • YouTube - HyperDMG2
    • View Profile
  • Faction: Neutral
  • MP nick: Çaktırma
  • WBNWWF&SVC
Re: FAQ and Troubleshooting
« Reply #12 on: March 25, 2016, 09:06:35 PM »
Well, I dont have "edit" button in here...

(click to show/hide)

But some other openbrf users have;

(click to show/hide)

How ? Is there something that need to be set ?

mtarini

  • Resource Wrangler
  • Moderator
  • *
  • [TLD] and [OpenBRF]
    • View Profile
    • [home]
  • Faction: Neutral
Re: FAQ and Troubleshooting
« Reply #13 on: March 26, 2016, 01:47:29 AM »
Which version are you using?
(hit F1, or [Settings]=>[About] to find out)

Latest is 0.0.81b.

Unless you are running a very old version, before the edit button was added (can't remember which one was it -- edit: it was ver. 0.0.64, dated 9 Jun 2011), then that is a really mysterious bug.
« Last Edit: March 26, 2016, 01:52:00 AM by mtarini »

HyperCharge

  • Modification Area Moderator
  • *
  • I am Uthred, son of Uthred
    • Twitch.tv - Hypercharge
    • YouTube - HyperDMG2
    • View Profile
  • Faction: Neutral
  • MP nick: Çaktırma
  • WBNWWF&SVC
Re: FAQ and Troubleshooting
« Reply #14 on: March 26, 2016, 09:15:00 AM »
lol, It looks I am using ver. 0.0.51 that released in Nov 2 2010  :lol: Thanks for reply, I will update it.