Author Topic: FAQ - Crash Fixes and Much More  (Read 170543 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

monnikje

  • Moderator
  • *
  • jipjipjip
    • View Profile
  • Faction: Neutral
  • MP nick: Monnikje
  • WB
FAQ - Crash Fixes and Much More
« on: December 07, 2010, 03:10:03 AM »
FAQ

Some questions get asked a lot, or sometimes there's just a general need for a certain question to be answered. That's why we compiled this list with Frequently Asked Questions.

To make it easier to find the answer you're looking for, we've divided the list in several parts. Here's an overview:
« Last Edit: February 20, 2013, 04:58:26 AM by Duh »


monnikje

  • Moderator
  • *
  • jipjipjip
    • View Profile
  • Faction: Neutral
  • MP nick: Monnikje
  • WB
Re: FAQ
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2011, 05:10:44 PM »
General questions

Q: What is the Floris Mod pack about?
The pack enhances native gameplay by combining a wide range of mods provided by the warband community. Additionally to the new trooptrees, it offers improvements in gameplay, graphics and many other areas.

Q: What Warband version is the Mod Pack running on?
Floris 2.54 runs on 1.153, although you could use the resources from the Basic version to enhance older Native Warband versions. Gameplay and Expanded require 1.153 (Version 1.154 works as well)

Q: What's the current Floris version?
2.54

Q: Where can I get an older version?
The Nexus contains all older versions.

Q: I don't like the current download mirrors. Why didn't you use this or that site to upload Floris to?
Seriously? There are plenty of mirrors to download from, as you can see at the Download Section. I also specifically asked before release for more mirrors. If you're still not satisfied it's too bad, for we're not uploading to even more mirrors.

Q: I found a bug. What should I do?
You can report bugs in the bug thread.
Please make sure to include a detailed description and if possible a screenshot. It could also be helpful to upload a savegame, which allows to reproduce the bug easily.
Before you post, please check whether "your" bug is already reported in the bugtracker.

Q: Can I get the source code?
Yes: it's been available for public use since 1.0. It's since version 2.5 integrated in the Dev Suite, the fourth version you can choose from during install. You can download Floris from the Introduction + Downloads page.

Q: Alright, I see the integrated 'Dev Suite' but it is in a different folder format than normal module systems. How do I use it?
See Windy's good explanation of getting things set up here Help - How to use Floris Dev Suite

Q:What are all the Mod Options for?

(click to show/hide)

Q: This mod has huge memory requirements. Isn't there some way to reduce it while still playing the Expanded version?
JatuWrangler has created an excellent memory reduction program - (Download: Warband Tamer). Even tough he posted it in the PoP subforum, it should also work with the Floris Mod Packs. It frees up RAM after battles, etc, hopefully extending your stable play time. Similarly, if you download the Warband Script Enhancer and use it to launch Warband, it will perform the same memory reduction if you open up WSE_settings.ini and set the following:
Code: (wse_settings.ini) [Select]
[memory_optimizer]
;Enable the memory optimizer for systems with low memory or large mods (experimental)
enabled = 1

Q: I'd like Floris to be in my native language. How do I translate it?
You can make your game create the .csv files required to translate by starting Warband and clicking on "Configure". There, turn "Windowed Mode" on. You can also enter Windowed mode by pressing Alt+Enter while the game is running. Once you launch Floris, open a saved game or start a new game. Then, when on the world map, go to the "View" menu on the menu bar in the windowed screen and choose "Create Language Template". A folder "new_language" will be created in your Warband installation folder, containing all of the .csv files needed to create a translation. (Refer either to snouz's French Floris translation or the various Native language .csv files for an idea of what needs to happen with them)
« Last Edit: May 11, 2013, 12:00:18 PM by Duh »


monnikje

  • Moderator
  • *
  • jipjipjip
    • View Profile
  • Faction: Neutral
  • MP nick: Monnikje
  • WB
Re: FAQ
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2011, 05:11:08 PM »
Crashes

Q: My game keeps crashing. What can I do?
There are several reasons why the game can crash. You might want to try the following:
- Enable 'Load Textures on demand'
- Make sure you are using Warband 1.153 (check your RGL log in your main warband folder for this)
- Lower the battle size. (100)
- Lower the number of corpses.
- Disable rag dolls.
- Lower the texture quality (and other graphical configurations)
- Run the game on Dx7
- Force single threading at the console when powering up MB. (Configuration/Advanced)
- Disable Edit Mode. (Configuration/Advanced)
- Run another version of Floris, for example Gameplay instead of Expanded.

If this all doesn't work, you can continue reading this post to see if there's a solution to your crash. If this doesn't solve your problem, you can ask for help at Support. Don't start a new topic about it.

Q: I get crashes while saving a game, during or after a bigger battle or switching screens.
OR: I have a 32-bit system with more than 2GB of RAM, but I still crash.

You might want to check out this topic. In most cases this solves your problems. This is a memory fix.

Q: I tried to use "Load Textures on Demand", but my game crashed immediately.
OR: The game crashes when I try to change the main game options.

Warband versions 1.143+ are prone to corrupt configuration files. Try deleting the rgl_config.txt file (in the Documents\Mount&Blade Warband\ folder) and, if necessary, the whole folder found at %APPDATA%\Mount&Blade Warband\   
This will force Warband to recreate your configuration files. Re-enter your settings and you should be good to go.

Q: All the dust from horses causes me to lag terribly! Can I get the old horse dust?
Use this particle_systems.txt file. It will use Native horse dust, but maintain the other Floris edits.

Q: The game crashes when I try to enter a town or a castle (or a town's tavern).
This is a standard Warband 1.143 crash. Open up your "module.ini" file found in your Warband install folder \Modules\Floris <version here>\ and edit the line "disable_moveable_flag_optimization = 0" by changing the 0 to a 1. You should not be seeing this in Warband 1.153

Q: What kind of system are you using yourself?
Some people have proclaimed that their crashes couldn't be related to their pc, because of their high end machines. That's why we share our specifications:
Monnikje:
(click to show/hide)

Duh:
(click to show/hide)

Q: I'm using Steam and get conflicts!
Some parts of the mod seem to conflict with Steam achievements, if you're not online. The workaround is:
Either
- Enable "Cheat Mode" in the Config menu from the launcher (this disables all achievements)
Or
- Right click on Warband in Steam to get your activation code.
- Download Warband from the official site and install it.
- Use your Steam activation code to activate non-Steam Warband.

Q: I can't start the game, since I get the following error just before the game is loaded: 'RGL shaders: Out of video memory', or a likewise error.
Strange but true: this error is caused by the amount of sound effects. If you get this error with the mod pack, it's best to revert back to the native sounds, or if you're running with Basic or Expanded you can try to use the Gameplay sounds. To do this, replace sounds.txt by the appropriate one. That's all.
« Last Edit: June 15, 2012, 02:50:01 PM by Caba`drin »


monnikje

  • Moderator
  • *
  • jipjipjip
    • View Profile
  • Faction: Neutral
  • MP nick: Monnikje
  • WB
Re: FAQ
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2011, 05:11:27 PM »
Troop Trees

Q: What's up with all those different troop trees I can choose from when starting a new game?
Since quite a lot of people disagreed on how the troop tree(s) should look like, I made three troop trees available to choose from when starting a new game. This choice can't be altered during your game, so choose wisely!
Native: This is the troop tree as used in Native Warband. The troops use items with equivalent stats as in Native. The maximum tier is 5. On average there are 9 troops to choose from per faction.
Reworked: A troop tree that is a middle road between Native and Expanded. The maximum tier is 6. On average there are 15 troops to choose from per faction.
Expanded: A large troop tree that offers quite some specialised troops. The maximum tier is 7. On average there are 25 troops to choose from per faction.

Q: I dont know which upgrade to choose for my soldiers. What can I do?
You can easily check the faction troop trees by clicking Reports and choosing "View upgrade trees". In there you can look at every single unit, its equipment and its stats.

Q: I don't like the names or the suffix code. Is there a way to change it?
You can edit them yourself using Morgh's Warband Tools. I do want to point out that the Native tree doesn't have the suffixes.

Q: I don't like any of the trees and would like to create my own Troop Tree. What do I need to know?
There are a few approaches to creating a new troop tree for the Floris Expanded Mod Pack. There are basically two questions you should ask yourself:
- Do I want to change items/names etc. in one of the existing trees, or do I want to create something completely new?
- Do I want to edit the text files or do I want to dive into the source code?
I'll try to explain what to do in each case.

Tools to use:
- Morgh's Warband Tools for text editing.
- Python for Windows for source file editing.

Notes:
- I'd like to point out that there are per tree, per faction, five extra troops you can use to expand the tree of your choosing without breaking savegames.

Editing one of the current troop trees:
(click to show/hide)
Creating a new tree using the text files:
(click to show/hide)
Creating a new tree using the source files:
(click to show/hide)
If you want to share your tree with the world, you can upload it somewhere and start a new topic about it. Just send me a pm about it, and I'll add it to the submod page.

Q: My new troop tree is awesome and you should implement it in your pack!
Great to hear that you're tree is working like a charm! You can send me a pm to share it, and I'll have a look at it. Maybe I'll even use (parts) of your tree in the official ones.
Since adding a new tree to the pack is a lot of work, your tree will need to meet the following requierments before I even consider adding it:
- Your tree needs to be made in the Source Files. It's a lot of work to transfer from text files to source files: time I'd rather invest to improve the mod pack. It's ok to use an existing tree and rebuild it to your own one.
- You need to have made the troop tree presentations in the source files.
- Your tree must add a new gaming experience, and not just be a few changed items or stats. It must differ from the current trees as Native, Reworked and Expanded differ from each other.
It's a lot easier to take an existing tree and adjust it than to add a completely new one.
« Last Edit: January 19, 2012, 01:09:59 AM by monnikje »


monnikje

  • Moderator
  • *
  • jipjipjip
    • View Profile
  • Faction: Neutral
  • MP nick: Monnikje
  • WB
Re: FAQ
« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2011, 05:11:45 PM »
Removing or changing Mods from the pack

Q: I don't like the Combat Animation Enhancements in the Expanded Pack. How can I remove them?
Download a revised 'actions.txt' file here, or here and paste it over the 'actions.txt' to the main mod directory, and say yes to overwrite. You should now have the old animations back while retaining the shieldbash and pike bracing animations.

Q: How can I remove the polished trees, expanded horizons and new skyboxes in the Expanded version?
I advise you to play the Gameplay or Basic version if you don't want the graphical enhancements, but if you really want to disable it yourself in the Expanded version, you'll have to do the following:

Disable the new skyboxes:
(click to show/hide)
Disable the Polished Buildings and the Polished Trees:
(click to show/hide)

Q: How can I remove just a part of the graphical enhancements, like the grass or the original trees, from the mod?
You can remove certain plants (let's call grass and trees and such all plants) from the game, or you can replace them by others (for example, the Native ones). I'll explain both here:
Removing plants:
(click to show/hide)
Changing plants:
(click to show/hide)

Q: Can I change the music in the mod?
Yes, you can. Here's some explanation on what can and can't be done:
(click to show/hide)

Q: Can I replace one of the new castles with a native (or other) castle?
Yes, you can:
(click to show/hide)
« Last Edit: August 10, 2012, 07:22:27 PM by Caba`drin »


monnikje

  • Moderator
  • *
  • jipjipjip
    • View Profile
  • Faction: Neutral
  • MP nick: Monnikje
  • WB
Re: FAQ
« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2011, 01:35:01 AM »
Suggesting new features

Q: I'd like to suggest a new feature, or a new mod, for the pack. Where should I do that?
You can make new suggestions in the Suggestions topic.

Q: Could you add the mod Lots of New Companions? Or at least more companions?
This question has been asked quite often, so I set up a poll to determine how many companions people would like to have added. After running it for a month, I came to the following conclusion:
I'll start with creating a few new companions. Once this is done, I'll have a look if it's possible to create a choice at the start of the game, allowing you to choose between a few or many companions. If this is not possible, I'll stick with the few I'll have created by then. If it is possible, I'll start to slowly work on more companions, but won't implement them untill they're all (or at least most of them) done: the results of this vote say that people are really not waiting for an amount in between the few and the lot.

Q: Can you change those foreign names to all English ones, or just remove or change those suffix codes?
Since I do like those foreign names, I'm not changing them into all English ones. You're more than welcome to do it yourself tough. See here for instructions.
« Last Edit: January 19, 2012, 01:10:11 AM by monnikje »


Duh

  • Hyper-Masochist
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Colorporosexual
    • View Profile
  • Faction: Rhodok
  • MP nick: Sir Simpleton
  • M&BWB
Re: FAQ - Crash Fixes and Much More
« Reply #6 on: February 20, 2013, 04:52:47 AM »
Modding Floris or How to use the Dev Suite

Step 1
You need to update the module_info.py file to have the path for your Floris folder.  This way it knows where to put the text files.  You can find this folder @ "..\Dev Suite Folder\Module Info\info.py".  Editing this file will bring up a lot of path information which we have setup so that we don't have to make this alteration for each person on the team.  You can ignore everything except the section that looks like this near the very top:
Code: [Select]
export_dir_main_guest         = "C:/Program Files/Mount&Blade Warband/"
export_dir_custom_guest = "./Native/"
The first path (export_dir_main_guest) needs to be the exact path to reach your Warband directory.
The second path (export_dir_custom_guest) needs to be the name of your module folder.  Effectively this is just breaking up the path to your module folder into two segments and removing the "\Modules\" from the middle as that's a given.

Step 2
You need to make sure python files can compile on your computer at all.  You'll need to install python 2.6 as explained here.

Step 3
The old "build module" batch file that the native module system comes with has been altered and renamed.  What you want to find is the file "compile_floris_expanded_source_to_custom_directory" which should reside in the main Dev Suite folder.  If you're not using the expanded version of the module then you'll want the one named "compile_floris_<version>_source_to_custom_directory".  This file copies all of the necessary module system & modmerger files into the same directory, compiles everything, moves the text files to your Floris folder and deletes the python file copies afterwards.  It is important to note that this only updates the text files (mostly what you'll want to do) in an already "built" module folder.  If you want to build a new module folder from scratch you used the "build_floris_expanded_mod_pack" (or whichever version you prefer) batch file.  This will create the module folder you've specified back in Step 1, move all of the necessary game files (sounds, textures, resources, etc) into it and then compile the python files.  This is a much lengthier process than the compile batch, but allows us to mix and match files in order to create the basic, gameplay or expanded versions of the mod.

Step 4
This is just to familiarize you with the locations of certain files.
The main module files can be found in -> "Dev Suite\Source\Source - Floris Expanded Mod Pack\Module\"
This is true for all module files for the expanded version and still true for most module files in the gameplay or basic versions.  Files specific to the gameplay or basic versions can be found in the "..\Source - Floris <version> Mod Pack\Module\" folder.  Since the expanded mod has all of the features and most files are the same it made sense to have one editing location for "shared files".

Specific "modmerger kits" can be found in -> "Dev Suite\Source\Source Kits\"
In here you can find the source for the entire Character Creation setup, Formations, Pre-Battle Orders & Deployment, Tournament Play Enhancements & Freelancer.  These were done as separate kits due to their size and to keep them more easily portable for OSP reasons.  If you edit any of them just keep the file where it is as the compiling batch files know to look there for them already.

Step 5
You're done.  Just make sure if you built a new module to select it when you startup the game.

Hopefully that straightens things out for folks a little.

    Solved
    These questions were about trying to use the compiler and getting edited source code to to be properly exported and compiled.


    I have some questions that might be very stupid.

    Question:
    How do you compile the source code or whatever for floris dev suite 2.54?

    Problem:
    • I wasn't able to find compile_floris_expanded_source_to_custom_directory. (solved)
    • Instead I found compile_floris_expanded_source_to_build_directory.  (solved)

    Solution: It was in warband/modules/Floris dev suite 2.54/modules/floris dev suite 2.54 or /warband/modules/modules/floris_dev suite 2.54
    I ended up moving it, so I'm not quite sure where exactly it was, but it was in a folder called modules that was created by the installation.


    I have found the compile_floris_expanded_source_to_custom_directory, but I have realized that I have no idea how to use it.

    Question 2:
    If that is the right compiler, then how do I make it work?
    How do I make the compiler work?

    Problem 2:
    I've been trying to edit items, and I haven't seen any changes in any of my files at all.
    • I attempted to use the compiler by right clicking the compiler and clicking the run as administrator.
      • The cmd box briefly popped up and disappeared before I could see much more than a glimpse.
      • As far as I can tell, none of the files were changed.
    • I double clicked the compiler and it had a lot of lines and a lot of access denied messages. But at least this time the cmd window didn't close itself immediately.
      • Here is the code there.
    (click to show/hide)
    The access is denied can be solved by running it as an administrator; however, I can't see the cmd box long enough to know if anything changed.

    I have edited module info/info.py Currently it looks like:
    (click to show/hide)
    and the module_info.py file that was made at some point (not by me) seems correct.

    I have checked my items files and there's no sign of a change at all.

    Solution:
    Btw access denied compile errors are prolly related to windows. If you have windows 7, place your warband folder on the desktop or another "free" area, then change the compile path. Alternatively you could try running the compiler as administrator or if you really want to dig deep - change the permissions of your system.
    I ended up moving my files out of "C:\Program Files (x86)" because of the issue I had when trying to run as administrator. Will see what happens when the compiling finishes.

    Question 3:
    Do I need to have an empty mod folder when I start out or something?
    Quote
    No. The only thing the compile actually does is create the text files, which contain the instructions for the game, which tell it how to use the ressources provided in the module folder. It would make no difference if the text files were missing pre-compile, but the actual game files are absolutely necessary for a mod to work (textures, music, scenes, etc).

    (Probably not)

    Additional Info
    • I have Floris Dev Suite 2.54
    • I have Python 2.73 installed
    • I am editing the source code in the Source files (Source - Floris Expanded Mod Pack)
    • When I opened and ran compile_floris_expanded_source_to_build_directory in python there didn't seem to be any errors
    • When I attempted to run module for the module_items.py file, there were syntax errors that had to do with the end bracket.
    • When I attempted to check module certain items being tabbed over apparently (the items getting tabbed over showed up after or during checking thing).
    • I am using python 2.73 because I could not find a 2.6 on python's download page and I read somewhere that any python 2.x would work.
    • I put python 2.73 into the system paths or whatever it's called in environment variables. (I have windows 7)
    • I'm a total noob to python, and have only done text file editing and tweaking my games with tweak mb

    I only ask this because I've been looking around for the past few days. Maybe I haven't been looking hard enough, because I could not find anything that answered/solved my questions/problems.

    Thank you very much for any help you can give me.

    References:
    I have used: [HELP - MS] How use "Floris Dev Suite 2.53"?

    Truthfully I had been looking at this thread for a couple of days before I even decided to ask for help, but it is very useful regardless.
    (I missed things in the first few reads, some things I missed were quite important).
    Thanks for the link.

    Floris Dev Suite 2.5 Question ?

    Thank you very much for your help Windyplains and Duh.

    See the above mentioned thread for further discussion. Some questions may be doubly answered.
    « Last Edit: February 20, 2013, 04:56:53 AM by Duh »
    Class - we haz it.
    I hate when your tampon string gets lost in your inner labia.
    There's a massive turd in my rectum that's really annoying me